FREE Concealed Carry Classes Going On Now!
Click here to sign up for your FREE 3 Hour Concealed Carry Class right now
What is the process (and COST) to receive a concealed carry permit (CCW, CWP) in Florida?
You can receive all the paperwork you need to apply for your concealed carry permit for free at this link.
Here is the process to receive your conceal carry permit:
- Head down to Walgreens and get yourself a passport photo. ($10)
- Take a firearm safety training class with the NRA (us!) (We used to charge $85, but now our class is FREE! Read more here!)
- If you have any criminal charges on you in the past, get certified copies of your records to submit as well.
- Take a fingerprint card to a local sheriff’s office and get your fingerprints taken. Electronic fingerprints can expedite things way faster. Here’s some information on electronic fingerprints. ($10 at the Sheriff’s office, then $31.5 to submit them to Florida)
- Fill out your application (in ink) or type the information.
- Submit a check or money order for your concealed carry permit fees ($55)
- Send it away!
We are offering a FREE concealed carry class – and we can now handle your PHOTOS and application lookover service for just $20 bucks! Read about our FREE Concealed Carry Classes here.
What is a good concealed weapon for me?
Answering that question is like answering, “what’s the best car for me?” There’s just so many options – price range, size, shape, revolver, automatic, etc.
We only buy handguns that are great for concealed carry – be sure to check out our online gun store!
What is the difference between a CCW, CWP, and concealed carry permit?
Nothing. All of these names refer to a license to carry a concealed weapon. Here are some common names for a carry permit:
- Concealed carry permit
- Concealed carry license
- Concealed weapons permit
- Concealed weapons license
I want to get a conceal carry permit (CCW, CWP). How do I know if I am eligible or not?
Here is a full list of requirements to get a CCW in Florida.
The eligibility requirements to get a CCW (CWP) or concealed weapons permit are as follows:
- You must be 21 years of age or older.
- You must be able to demonstrate competency with a firearm.
- Unless you are serving overseas in the United States Armed Forces, you must currently reside in the United States (US) AND be a US citizen or deemed a lawful permanent resident alien by Department of Homeland Security, US Citizenship and Immigration Service (USCIS).
Here’s a test you can take to see if you are able to get a CCW permit.
Possible reasons you would be denied a CWP (concealed weapons permit:
- The physical inability to handle a firearm safely
- A felony conviction (unless civil and firearm rights have been restored by the convicting authority).
- Having adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence unless three years have elapsed since probation or other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled.
- A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
- A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
- A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
- Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
- Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
- Failing to provide proof of proficiency with a firearm.
- Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is currently in force.
- Renouncement of U.S. citizenship.
- A dishonorable discharge from the armed forces.
- Being a fugitive from justice.
Where can I carry a concealed weapon?
You can carry a concealed weapon almost anywhere. Here are places you cannot carry a concealed firearm in Florida:
- Government buildings (post office, schools, courtrooms, etc)
- Bars (or establishments that sell mostly alcohol)
If a business has a sign on the door that prohibits firearms in their building, is it a crime for me to enter while I’m carrying concealed?
No. It is not a crime to enter the building.
A business cannot remove your right to the second amendment with a sign on their door, however, if someone notices your firearm and asks you to leave, you must leave the building immediately without being rude or causing a scene. If you fail to leave the building, you will be charged with trespassing – and if you trespass with a firearm, you’re in pretty bad shape.
In every movie theater in Citrus County, there is a sign outside the door that states firearms and other concealed weapons are not allowed. I actively choose to ignore that sign – because I’d rather be” tried by 12 than carried by 6.” What happened in Colorado isn’t going to happen on my watch!
Which Concealed Carry Class Should I Take?
Hands down, our course is the best concealed carry class on the planet. We offer way more information than most classes.
Do I Need a Concealed Carry License to Have a Gun in My Vehicle?
No. Here in Florida, if you are lawfully allowed to own a handgun, you may have a concealed gun in your glove box or center console at any time. It can be loaded and there is no requirement to have your gun in a holster.
My husband and I would like to get a cwp. He is a truck driver and I ride with him. Would our license be good all over the US or just the state of FL?
Can I carry my gun with me in my car with out a concealed weapon lic???
Yes, you can have your gun in the car as long as it is in a secure place and not immediately available to you. The glove compartment is an example of such a place.
the Second Amendment says you can but I don’t know about state law
no in a comercial motor vehicle federal law prohibits the carrying of any weapon. even knives and bats.
Their is No Federal Law for a concealed weapon in a CMV.
That is correct.
That is INCORRECT.. There is no law prohibiting carrying a firearm in a commercial vehicle. There might be a company policy depending on who one works for, but there is ABSOLUTELY NO FEDERAL LAW prohibiting it. I have 3 license(s) and I carry everywhere my permit(s) have reciprocity. I have also gone through DOT inspections and the occasional traffic stop with absolutely ZERO issues.
I am a local truck driver and its a federal law that you can’t have any firearm in a commercial motor vehicle, i know alot that do and i think we should be able to, so in short all trucks are gun free zones, it stinks.
There is no federal law about commercial vehicles and guns.
I used to drive a commercial vehicle (CDL-A with ALL endorsements) for a Southeast chain grocery store which denied the carry of any firearm in their trucks. Needless to say I didn’t obey their illegal restrictions. Trucking can be very dangerous – especially alone where they hijack your truck and leave YOU dead in the ditch. I have talked to many armed drivers, and we would not ever be disarmed.
I would suggest you restudy the law or provide a statute that says that. There is no commercial vehicle restriction.
Send a link to your version of the law 🙂
I live 54 miles from my home to your location. Is states on the web site it is for 50 mile radius. May I still take the CCW class?
A Florida CWP is valid in Florida and the states that have a reciprocal agreement with the state. IIRC, there are 34 states that do so. The list changes from time to time so best to Google for a current listing.
I have been arrested for a felony but was not convicted can I get a gun?
Of course. As long as you have not been convicted guilty, you’re fine.
Having serviced in armed forces with a discharge under honorable conditions do o need to take gun safety class?
DD214 is all you need in Florida. If you take a class and get a certificate the DD214 will be the primary certification of training. I just did it today
Your CWP only covers your right to carry in Florida but there are other states that honor it. Part of the/your responsibility of having a cwp is to learn the laws of other states. I would highly suggest that you buy this book (http://www.amazon.com/Florida-Firearms-Ownership-Complete-Including/dp/0964195879/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1449510008&sr=8-1&keywords=florida+firearms+law+use+%26+ownership+8th) buy it, learn it, know it, and when the new edition comes out do it all over again. It is your responsibility to know everything you can if you decide own or carry a weapon.
I can not personally endorse this because I haven’t read it but you could check this out as well. http://www.amazon.com/United-Travelers-Firearm-Edition-Paperback/dp/0972548963/ref=pd_sim_14_1?ie=UTF8&dpID=41p6-EatgOL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR121%2C160_&refRID=0BXVNXP8BF1AYADH2ZGN
No some states do not recognize other states CWP like Arizona.
Arizona recognizes valid permits from all other states.
Concealed Weapons Permits (Issued by other states outside of Arizona)
Arizona recognizes all other states valid permits providing the following conditions are met:
Arizona and any political subdivisions of Arizona shall recognize a concealed weapon, firearm or handgun permit or license that is issued by another state or a political subdivision of another state if both:
The permit or license is recognized as valid in the issuing state
The permit or license holder is all of the following:
Legally present in this state
Not legally prohibited from possessing a firearm in this state
Your CWP would be valid in all states that has reciprocity with FL-however its your* responsibility to keep doing the responsible thing like your doing here, and know the law of each state you’ll be traveling through-notification laws if your in contact with LE vary a lot from state to state so know those laws, as well as where you can and cant carry varies a lot-esp in terms of the force of law of “no firearms signs” in businesses-they dont mean much in FL but do in some other states. There are some complicated provisions that allow people in some instances to travel through a state with your firearms if your traveling or moving ect..but they are complicated and Id not advise carrying a handgun through around, near, above or below New York. JFYI. Bottom line-yes you can carry in your truck if the state your traveling through has FL reciprocity , and you abide by the laws of the state your in Its burdensome, but better than jail or going unarmed.
States currently honoring the combined Utah CFP/Florida CCW permits: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.
Carrying a weapon of any sort in a commercial is illegal, even with a CWP. If caught, it is considered a felony.
Completely and utterly FALSE. Absolutely incorrect.
I WOULD LIKE TO ACQUIRE MY CONCEALED PERMIT. WOULD YOU PLEASE CONTACT ME? I HAD A PERMIT AROUND 1975-1980 SOMETHING. I WORKED FOR THE CAMBRIDGE MASS. POLCE DEPT BACK THEN. I LEFT THEDEPT AND JUST LET MY PERMIT EXPIRE. RESPECTFULLY CHRIS
What’s the different between having a concealed weapon lic and none???
I have a CWP for Florida. When I took the class I think I remember the instructor telling us that the gun must be in a holster even if it is in the glove compartment. Is that the case or did I hear it wrong? I think I also remember that if the gun is in the front seat it must be in a holster and not visible. Is this correct?
Here in Florida, there is no requirement for the gun to be in a holster with a concealed carry permit. As long as you have the permit, the only requirement is that you have it hidden.
Without a CCW permit, you can have a gun in your glove box or center console.
In either case, there is no requirement to have a holster.
I hope this helps!
there is a holster design too attached under your steering wheel not vary hidden but can u use it will your driving ?
According to Florida statute 790, you can have in your car with out a CCW as long as its “safely secured”. Under the definitions of that same chapter (790.001) “safely secured” means in a container with a lid(shoe box, center console, glove box), OR **snapped** in a holster. So if you have a holster mounted under your steering column (like i do) with a thumb snap securing it, you’re good to go. Just make sure you carry a copy of 790 in your car with the applicable paragraphs highlighted in case any law enforcement officer is unaware of the law.
Thanks for the information. I just printed out Florida statute 790.001. Rocky
I used to be an alcoholic. Now I only occasionally have a drink or two. I had never been hospitalized for this. However, my medical records will show that my doctor did treat me with medication several times for alcohol withdrawal. I know he documented me in his records as an alcoholic. This was about 3-4 years ago. Can I still get a concealed permit?
I don’t have a license because off tickets in ny can I still get a license to carry a firearm? I hope so because its my right to carry a firearm and a privilege to drive a car so I don’t know I’m going to try anyway personally I think right the right to drive a car to a license use to be a piece of paper that said you know how to drive a car it couldn’t be taken away revoked suspended are added points to just the paper they put your car
How long after my class do I have till it expires? I took my class in feb 2014 but haven’t sent my stuff in yet waiting on the money, is there an expiration on my class?
The review board that approves or denies licensing would like to see your application be4submitted before the 90 days after the class to keep everything current.. <lllllppoyy5
Are hollow point bullets allowed in CCW’s.
In Florida you can have drinks with your meal. The question of intoxication and firearms is the same as intoxication and driving, and the standard is the same. It really makes good sense if you think about it. In Florida just as you can drink and have your car keys you can drink and have your gun. You can drink as long as you do not discharge the firearm just as you can drink as long as you don’t drive your car. Its the use not the possession that triggers the offense.
However, discharge the firearm and you are over 0.8 alcohol and you are in serious trouble, but then if you discharge the weapon in most jurisdictions you are going to have a problem anyway, the alcohol just is just going to make it worse .
There is an exception to the intoxication rule, and that is IF you fired in legitimate self-defense or defense of another person. If its self-defense you can be drunk as a skunk .
Your comment is a bit confusing. In Florida you MAY NOT go into an establishment armed if the primary purpose of that establishment is the service of alcohol. You may go into a restaurant that serves alcohol with meals. If you are caught in Joes Bar or the local titty joint with a gun your ccw license is subject to immediate revocation.
I have had a Level 2 Background check completed within the last year. Would that background check meet the requirements for CCP, or would a new background check be required?
Did anyone ever get backto you on this? I am in a similar situation
I am a 53 yo, had a felony 36 years ago at the young age of 18. In tennesse. Since I have a clean record for 36 years and time was served long ago. will they allow me to have a permit?
You are not eligible for a CCW license in the State of Florida. A felony conviction stays with you FOR LIFE if committed as an adult. Your sole recourse would be to go back to TN and apply for a relief from civil disabilities if such a program is available there. Florida takes fingerprints and runs a full criminal background check for ccw applicants.
That isn’t actually true. There are several potential paths to restoring your rights. For instance, if he was charged as a juvenile (as many 18 year olds with half-decent attorneys are charged), if he was charged with a crime that could have been a misdemeanor (a wobbler felony) it is possible to have the charge reduced decades later, if he served no time in a state or federal prison (i.e. just county lockup, parole, probation, etc.), if he gets a pardon and restoration of rights from the Governor, etc. In some cases, states have gone back and automatically expunged complete categories of crimes from citizen’s histories, effectively restoring their right to vote and own firearms.
I’d advise doing some google research on restoration of rights, then if you think its worth the few grand you will likely spend on lawyers, call one that specializes in this. You probably need one from Tennessee.
I have a current CCW from Wisconsin, but I just moved to Florida. I know that invalidates my WI permit. My question is: Does my classroom portion (the only part WI requires) have to be done over again in Florida? Can’t I just take the firing range part of the class in FL to be certified? Or do I have to take the whole class over again and add the firing part to it?
If you have documentation that your training meets floridas requirements it will probably be accepted. The Florida course is based on the NRA basic safety course.
If I have my CWP, do I have to register my gun in Florida to concealed carry it?
No, there is no gun registration in Florida.
How long does the whole process take to get get approved? From the class to finger printing, to back ground check?
Class: 3 Hours. Fingerprints at the sheriff’s department: 10 minutes. Wait time after you mail your application: 2-3 weeks.
They are expecting veterans and I’m wondering how fast they are receiving their permit. I submitted my DD214 with my paperwork and prints yesterday.
I took my cwp class a few years back and then fell on hard times can i still get my permit without having to go thru the whole process again
Did I read the instructions right that if you are honorably discharged from the military all you have to submit is your dd214 instead of going to a gun safety class
Yes, in FL you need your DD214 or CAC card, your Drivers Liscense, and a form of payment if you are military or were in the military
Can you use your retired military ID Card to get your permit? I hate carrying around my DD 214 when I have a military ID and a VA ID. Carrying around a DD 214 is ridiculous in my opinion if you have the other two IDs.
I currently have a valid TN permit and moved to FL. I realize I have to get a new Florida permit, but do I need to start the entire process over? I have had training required by TN law, if and why do I need to pay and take basically the same course to get a permit? Fingerprints are on file as well. Basically, will I be required to pay more feed and do all of this over again?
I am currently being denied permission to own a handgun in the state of Florida because I have a pending court case. The charges have already been reduced and I don’t expect any serious convictions, if any at all. Does anyone know what should do if I am still denied permission after my next court appearance? If I am denied a CCW am I allowed to reapply?
You can reapply but your gonna lose your money if denied. Depending on your court case if there is any conviction for a felony your done and if your convicted of a misdemeanor then you’ll possibly have to wait until 1 yr after your probation is completed. So make sure you get all the documentation required before submitting your application and proof of yormtest
I know someone who temporarily lost their right to even own his firearms due to a 1 year domestic injunction for protection (restraining order). Once the injunction was over his firearms were returned to him and he was allowed to go on as if it never even happened.
I have carry permits for New York & PA. on my Military DD214 I qualified
with 45’s.I havn’t had a gun class since the 70’s.Will the dd214 work for my qualification class. Do I still need that NRA class?
David A. Doyle
A DD214 is all you need to qualify for a permit doesn’t matter how long ago you got it …
I am in the process of putting together the information that I need to submit my application for a concealed carry permit as a non-resident. How do I secure a fingerprint card ?
Feel free to stop by! We’d be happy to get you one.
My handguns are equipped with Crimson Trace laser sights. Can I conceal carry in Florida with these on my guns?
My husband took the class years ago, but he never filed the paperwork/prints/etc., is it still valid or will he need to retake the class?
My question is I was convected 25 year ago out of state for position of more then so many grams of a controlled substance, Pot, guilty of a misdemeanor . Would that prevent me from being able to carry to help keep myself, family and others safe from the people who want to do us all harm?
My drivers license list a PO Box as the address. Should I add a physical address on my application so the permit is issued? Will having a PO BOX make them refuse to issue a concealed weapons permit. The officer told me to put the address listed on my license on the application. Help!
I have previously had a CWP in FL that is now expired. Do I need to be fingerprinted again and take another class?
Are concealed carry classes that don’t require any firing of a weapon still as legit as those that require it. Or am I just asking for future trouble?
I am only asking because I would like my wife to also consider getting a permit and she claims to have found a course of this nature.
I have been arrested for a felony in the past but was not convicted the charges were dropped can I still go and get and buy a gun
Hey, I have all my certified paper work that I need from the first time I applied and took the classes. Something happen and I had to surrender my licence to the department of license. My question is “If I want to gain my license back, would I have to reapply all over and take the classes all over again or is there something else that I need to do to gain it back?
My ex-husband and I have two children. He drives with his gun, sometimes loaded, sometimes not, when the kids are in his car. He leaves them in the car alone with the gun where it is kept in unlocked console. My little ones told me about it. Is this legal? Even if not, he would deny it if I reported him, so how would he get caught? Thank you.
So I have a question I hope someone can help me with. I had a little to much to drink one night at a friend’s house so I decided to play it safe and walk home versus drive my car and put myself or someone else in a bad life changing situation. I was stopped by local law enforcement and actually arrested for disorderly intoxication and trespassing for walking to my own house. After being released on a $25 bail I hired a lawyer because even though they’re two misdemeanors I have a great job I want to protect. I also carry a firearm for personal reasons but I knew what my plans were that night so I left it at home. Florida never suspended my CWP and this was almost 4 months ago. Anyone think I have anything to worry about?
They went back 35 years in my background ck why don’t even remember this case is not on file I was denied
Just shows how any idiot can get a concealed weapons permit, which is a good thing because otherwise there wouldn’t be much need for your course. Take your guns and shove them up your god damn asses.
Question. I have a NJ Drivers License, but have duel residency in NJ and Florida. Do I have to change my NJ DL to Florida in order to get a concealed permit?
I just got my cwl what are the laws about how I carry in my car? Can I open carry? Or can it just sit some where within reach? Loaded out of holster?
Hi. I got a lot of hassle last night about my CWP. With a permit, am I allowed to have my firearm in my vehicle under the seat in a holster unstrapped? Do I even need a holster in FL with my CWP in my vehicle?
Can I carry my weapon while I wait for my ccw license in the mail?
So I live in Montana where gun laws are pretty good and here you only have to be 18 to have a CWP and I have mine at 18 but I will be moving back to Florida soon where they accept Montana CWP’s but you have to be 21 to conceal carry there can I still carry there since they accept Montanas?
I retired from the military a couple of years ago and changed my residency from FL to OH. Does that invalidate my FL CCW permit?
Any info would be appreciated.
if i lose my job as a florida state correctional officer do i lose my ccw that i paid for.people tell me its no good if i quit or lose my job is it true
I was convicted of a felony in NY in 2001. It was an E felony for insurance fraud
And grand larceny. I now live in Fl and want to know what I have to do in order to get a concealed
License that is if I can at all.
40 years ago paid a fine of $25.00 for a misdemeanor felony for trespassing on a Navy base. I had been honorably discharged the day before after serving 4 years in the Navy. Gave a sailor a ride to work did not stop and get a base pass after being told to do so.
Will this keep me from getting a CWP in the state of Florida?
In 2005 I had adjudication withheld on a felony I did my probation that I completed in 2007 have had no type of problem since I was told I can apply and receive with no problem is that correct ? Thank you for your time !
Do I need to take a concealed carry class if I have my DD214?
I currently hold a CCW from Illinois and Utah, as well as, a veteran. First, what is the requirement for me getting a Florida CCW? Second, If I meet the requirements while in Florida this Jan and Feb can the permit be obtained while I’m there?
If you become disabled, do the fees and charges, for cwp, change?
I am from out of state and hold a CCW permit which is recognized in Florida. All I wanted was a quick review of where I can or cannot carry. After looking on state site and a few more I found this site. It was great, quick concise explanation of where I can and cannot carry. Thank you.
Note how can you tell if a place of bossiness makes most of its money selling liqueur? I do not know, we have same stupid law in my state. Until owner posts their financials on the door I really do not worry about this law.
Applying for a Florida Conealed Permit. Have a DUI on my record 21 months old. I understand a denial will result with two DUI convictions in 3 years, so no concern there. My worry is the history of alcohol abuse line. In just about every DUI case you are required to attend AA meetings, Safety Council courses, and 3-6 months of rehab counseling treatments. Will these suggest evidence of alcohol abuse in someone’s mind when applying?
Or does the history of abuse refer to crimes or specific acts or situations involving alcohol?
You say: “No. Here in Florida, if you are lawfully allowed to own a handgun, you may have a concealed gun in your glove box or center console at any time.” What does lawfully allowed mean? Does this mean It has to be a registered handgun or does it mean I can’t be a felon? Please clarify. Thanks!
I want to get my cwp with yall how do i go about that need infomation and cost thanks.
I had a injunction on me from years back, it was taken off, how long do I have to wait to be able to go get my cwp. live in Florida
I took the concealed weapons class a few years ago and never turned in the paperwork I want to know how long does the paper or last or if I need to retake the class again
I was recently approved (passed the background check) for gun ownership in Florida. Assuming that I took the appropriate training and nothing has changed w/ my record, is it likely that I will get my concealed weapons permit? Are the standards different?
Having one DUI about one year prior, is it still possible to be eligible? What should be answered for questions 13a,b?
Evidently that is no matter . I have bought many firearms though out the past 7 years and gotten pawn loans on some around 4 to 5 times .when you get your gun out of pawn they to run a back ground so totally I have been run in seven years around 10 to 11 times. I have presently been waiting for 2 months and 3 days since I completed my ccw application at the local tax collectors office . I have no violent pastor drug offences no felonies etc . And live a boring married life. As of tonight when I did my last check of the agriculture site for my status . Which has read the same paragraph for 2 mo and 2 days . Finally said inconclusive bassically they say they are still waiting for law enforcement to decipher encryption of my past records.Really it said not much more than it has said every day for 2 mo . They have 90 days before they have to tell you anything and at this point inconclusive . So I could get turned down and with out being able to afford a lawyer to get my rights for me .Well you know . I have head people with no felonies that are gun owners get turned down . I read a case in a forum . The guy was from out of this state . I guess it is like the flip of a coin ?
Do you need a permit to “purchase a firearm”,nics check, if I have a fl cancelled carry permit.i live out of state but have an address in fl.
if your from wi and a felon from wi but move to florida where your not a felon can you get your ccw for florida?
Wi. Has a law on back child support as a felony. Would this stop a person from getting a Canceled carry permit in Florida.?
I have a resisting with out violence charge. Will that be something i am disqualified for.
I took my concealed carry class last year and received my certificate. I was unable to submit my paperwork due to financial problems, is it possible i can still submit my documents from last year now?
Sure! Feel free to come get your photo and notary done with us for $20 bucks!
My boyfriend is a convicted felon, I just want to obtain my concealed weapons permit but not keep a gun in the house. Is that a problem? I would never want my permit to effect him.
That would be fine – but just because he’s a felon doesn’t mean you don’t have your rights. Just make sure it’s always in your possession – not his – and you’ll be fine.
my daughter got a ticket at 15 for smoking on school grounds was not notified so they issued a warrent for her arrest. was arrested but evreything was paid and taken care of, at age 16 she was arrested for being in a stolen vehicle that was given to her boy friend to use the charges were dropped on both the kids when the friend turned himself in for stealing the car. so no mist or felony 10 years latter and they are holding up my daughters ccw because they said there is an issue with her background check?
You’ll have to call the state – that sounds all sorts of screwed up lol
she calls the state and they keep telling her they have 90 days to issue or deny her application but could suspend it up to 6 months after the 90 days. will not tell her what the problem is and it has now been 85 days and nothing
I’m 18 years old and have a restraining order against my ex boyfriend for domestic violence while I was pregnant. I was told I could get a permit to carry a weapon in my vehicle for safety reasons. Would it be easier to get a permit or to just keep one in my vehicle?
I was locked up for driving without a license, When i went to court i got a STET. The condition of the stet was, I had to get my license within six months and I could not get myself into any trouble with the law within that time and the case wiuld be dismiss after. I got my license and I never got into anymore trouble with law. It been over a year now.Am I eligible for a CCW or I have to wait for it to be expunged it?
I was locked up for driving without a license, When i went to court i got a STET. The condition of the stet was, I had to get my license within six months and I could not get myself into any trouble with the law within that time and the case would be dismiss after. I got my license and I never got into anymore trouble with law. It been over a year now. Am I eligible for a CCW or I have to wait until I get it expunged?
for florida contact your county tax collector main office only. many of them are now doing the ccw applications, fingerprints electronically, pictures and notary. the only outside thing you need is proof of training id ,ex mil, police or taken the local course making the process more streemlined
Im planning to obtain my ccw ,have gun certificate before applying I read the eligibility and im unclear about the terminology. I’ve been arrested a couple times for non violent non drug related charges one dui conviction another found not guilty all more than three years. And on the sight for the application it doesn’t make it very clear I took the preliminary question for eligibility and says im good. So my question is should I just send it in or do I have my lawyer in New York do the foot work and get all dispositions for every single time i was arrested even for peeing in publin
What happens if you were fingerprinted electronically overseas while arrested for a none violent crime. Can you still get a ccw?
If a Church contracts with a school to hold services at the school on Sunday, does the prohibition against concealed carry on school property still apply when attending the service on Sunday?
i was able to buy a firearm from gander mountain does it mean that i will get approved for my cwp?
My boyfriend and I are moving down to Florida. He wants to get a gun there, but he was charged with a misdemeanor of paraphernalia here in Colorado. It was a while ago, could he still be able to get his CWP?
Does anyone know if there is a way to get your ccw permit faster than sending it in the mail here in Florida? Some people have told me they turned it in person and received there license in 4-6 weeks. I am taking my class Friday and want to get my permit as soon as I can.
Thank you all in advance
I work in Canada and come to Florida for a few months quite often. I am a US citizen and already own a weapon that stays here with my family when I’m gone.
I understand one of the requirements for a CCW is “you must currently reside in the United States”.
Will working abroad prevent me from applying for this permit?
My CWl IN FLORIDA came in the mail about 2 weeks after I filed for it , My girlfriend of 10 years is still waiting on hers 91 days later . I was under the impression In Florida they had 90 days to issue or reject the application for the licence . She is calling Monday the number provided went straight to busy today . Is there a time limit as I had Thought ? If so what is the consequence or her recourse if they are in violation of the time limit?
hey how are you quick question I was arrested for domestic violence 16 years ago I had one year probation and VIP class and supposedly they said if I completed all that with no problem that the record would be sealed I did everything I was supposed to do and have not been in trouble ever since nor was I in trouble before that incident. Should that be a problem when going to buy a handgun?
oh I forgot to mention that I had pleaded no contest
I was arrested for aggravated assault with a deadly weapon,The judge gave me probation.I completed probation with no adjudication.Can I get a concealed carry permit ??? And how long after probation is completed do I have to wait before I can apply for a concealed carry permit ???
I’m 70years I had a felony 45 yes ago can I get my cwp
I recently had a 35 year old CDS felony conviction expunged in New Jersey. The Judge ordered the conviction erased from everywhere (local, county, State Police,
and the FBI’s records). The only place it exists is The Controlled Dangerous Substances Registry in Washington DC. The State of New Jersey issued me a new
firearms purchaser’s card and a handgun purchase permit. If I answer ‘no’ for question # 7 on the CCW application “have you ever been convicted of a felony?”,
would Florida discover that conviction? I don’t want to be charged with lying under oath.
Do i have to have a florida state drivers license to obtain a ccw in the state of Florida?
If you live in Florida, then you will need to get your Florida license. If you do not live in Florida, you can still get a CCW in the state of Florida. So the answer to your question would be no.
I got my Nra training cert last year in August of safe handling fell on hard times is it still good now almost a year later?
If you took your class here and received your cert, then yes it is still good. I can not tell you if you got it from somewhere else, you would have to get in touch with them to find out.
I currently have a CCW in Florida and I’ve been stopped several times and always notify the officer about my weapon in my vehicle, on two separate occasions the officer has informed me that “I am violating the 3 step law…that my weapon must be within X number of step from me in order for me to be carrying it legally in my vehicle. I have challenged the officer because while it has been two years since I last got my license I simply do NOT remember EVER hearing about any number of step that I have to take to acquire my gun when in need. Can you clarify this ?
There is no 3 step rule in the state of Florida. You can have your firearm in your center console or glove box loaded and ready. If you have your concealed carry permit, you can it anywhere in the car as long as it is not seen.
I would like to get CWL, but I’m disabled and my housemate is a felon. Can I still get CWL?
My housemate wouldn’t have the gun.
To whom it may concern, I plead guilty to MISDEMEANOR domestic violence over 4 years ago. My father just passed away and left me a few firearms to add to my collection, a few pistols and rifles. Now I would like to get my concealed weapons permit.I’ve been trying to research and it keeps giving me random answers about Florida law. Can I get my concealed weapons permit? Am I even eligible to keep my rifles now? Florida gun laws are always changing. Please advise, best regards
You can call this number and they will be able to answer your question. The number is 850-245-5691.
To whom it may concern,
I’m trying to find out if I can get a CWL Lincense, I’m disabled, I would like to get it but was unsure of the rules. I do have a roommate that’s a felon but won’t be using it or handling the firearm. I hope you can help me I would like to take the test & class. Thank you for your time.
I am an honorably discharged Veteran who has a KY CCW permit, we are in the process of buying a home in Florida, what is the process of getting a Florida CCW Permit? Will I have a waiting period where I will be basically unprotected? If so do you know why?
It is my basic understanding that I will not be required to take either the class or range time being a veteran (could be both), I find a lot of information for obtaining CCW for those that have non and for veterans that want one but I find very little information on those who hold a current CCW from another state moving here.
I received my conceal and carry in the state of Missouri. I’m 19, legal age there is 19. Am I able to get it in Florida or is the law still 21 in Florida? I’m going to school here and probably moving here after schooling
You will have to be 21 here in Florida
The law is still 21 in Florida unless you are active duty military. Then you can get a license at 18.
I have a year old DUI. Does this disqualify me?
No, it does not. You cannot have 3 DUIs in 3 years.
No, you’re fine!
First time aspiring CWP. I meet all the requirements for elegibility.
However, do I need to be a resident of Florida to obtain a Florida CWP or can I be a resident of another state?
Florida will give a concealed carry permit to anyone who is a legal US resident or lawful permanent resident.
You do NOT have to be a resident. Apply away!
Got a couple of non-felony dui”s in florida about 10 years ago and they revoked my ccw. it”s the only thing I have on my record. I went through a voluntary 90 day rehab and have been clean and sober for 9 years. Took the full NRA class that included qualifying on targets and 100 question test.
Is there any way to restore my CCW?
Can I still buy a long gun?
Congrats on your sobriety! I would send in your application and let the state of Florida decide.
I’m living in the state of Florida for 17 years I have work permit TPS, I can Apply for my permission weapon
You can certainly apply – I’m not sure if you’d be approved.
I live in California and currently have a CCW I’m a vet with a DD214 with a honorable discharge. What do I need to do to get a CCW in Florida? Do they issue non-resident CCW’s? Thank you for your help.
Hey Troy! Thanks for your message. You can absolutely apply for a Florida permit, but in order to to satisfy Florida training requirements, you must take an NRA Certified class in person in Florida. Let us know when you’re around – we’d be happy to help!
About six years ago I was issued a restraining order while going through a divorce. Does this disqualify me from getting my cwp? I have never been arrested, I have no charges against my name, I am a legal citizen.
I’m not sure. A current RO disqualifies you, but you’ll need to contact the Florida Department of Agriculture to find out for sure…
I was honorably discharged from the Navy. My DD214 says honorable, however, the reason for discharge was for alcohol dependency/anabuse refusal. Can I still submit my DD214 for a CCP or will I also need additional proof that I’m no longer alcohol dependant?
I have no idea. You’ll need to call the Florida Department of Agriculture.
Hello,I live in Ohio and I have a felony(15 years ago) that can not sealed. I was granted relief from weapons disability 3 months ago in Ohio court. I applied for a CCW at the sheriff’s office in Ohio,but was denied because of the felony. The sheriff suggested that i open carry instead. I can show proof of gun rights being restored and my CCW gun training in Ohio. Will i be eligible to apply for a non residental CCW license in Florida?
I’m not sure, you’ll need to call the Florida Department of Agriculture.
My husband who is 45 now is wanting to get his concealed weapons permit but was 18 or 19 and was arrested and convicted of shop lifting (felony). Is he even able to get concealed weapons permit?
No, you’re going to have to get that cleared up.
My father is 74 years old and has some health issues.
I’m wondering if there are any specific health issues that would limit him from getting a CCW permit?
I see that one of the requirements is to show proficiency and competence with the firearm. Does this mean there is an actual firing range test?
Thank you and I look forward to a reply.
Yes, he must demonstrate proficiency with a firearm. That means exactly what it sounds like, and we are pretty strict on it.
I have taken my concealed carry class, but have not yet applied for my permit. What is the time limit before having to retake the class? Or is there one?
Your training certificate has no expiration date, so get it sent in!
Hi there! Thanks for all the useful information! I am moving to Florida from Utah. I know a Utah permit is honored by the state of Florida, but once I establish residency in FL, will I need to obtain a FL permit immediately, or can I continue using my Utah permit until it expires? Thanks!
I will be turning 21 in a couple months can I send in my paper work early or do i have to wait till my 21st birthday?
Congrats! Mail it in the day you turn 21.
Hi. Many years ago I was convicted for a felony and for a misdemeanor. I received from the court and the government a certificate of good conduct. Am an honorable discharge veteran. I currently live in New Jersey but on about a few weeks am moving to Florida. The reason I want a gun permit is because am opening my business there and in my business I carry a lot of money.
I have been convicted of several misdemeanors. Will this keep me from getting a concealed weapon permit.
Hello I did my concealed class years ago & got the photo done, fingerprints etc. Basically everything I needed to get it except I never sent it in with the money.
Is there a statue of limations for this in the state of Florida
iwent to a big sporting goods store to buy a gun paid the 5oo dollar fee and was turned. that was in 2015 nov. after many phone calls to clear my name’jan2016 Italked to florida fish game .i got ccw lin infeb. they could neever find the paper work for my areast. it was verry costly to me.
If you have a DUI felony from 10 years ago can you get a CWP ?
I have my carry lisence out of Ky, do I have to go through the whole process?
Yes, you do.
The vast majority of questions here regarding the law are easily answered on your own by reading the statutes and becoming familiar with FL law … Not being a jerk, just giving some helpful information. For the purposes of Concealed Carry and transportation of personal firearms, if it is not contained within Chapters 790 (Weapons and Firearms) or 776 (Justifiable Use of Force) under Title XLVI (Crimes) of FL State Statute then it is not a FL state gun law and doesn’t exist in this state. Official links are below. They are not difficult reads and are extremely informative.
Ch 790 – http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0700-0799/0790/0790ContentsIndex.html&StatuteYear=2017&Title=-%3E2017-%3EChapter%20790
Ch 776 – http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0700-0799/0776/0776ContentsIndex.html&StatuteYear=2017&Title=-%3E2017-%3EChapter%20776
I was arrested in 2008 for Domestic Violence. I was not convicted and charges were dropped. Two weeks ago I submitted my application for my ccw. Last week I went into my local gun shop and purchased a firearm. I then waited three days and was able to pick up my firearm after the background check came back clean.
My question is; is there a possibility for me to get denied, or being that I was able to purchase and pick up a firearm from a local gun dealer, I can assume I’m good to go? Does anyone know?
I’ll be 21 in 5 months i wanted to know if i do the paper work or test right now and wait to get the licenses when im 21 or is that even possible
Back in Illinois of 2001 i was arrested for domestic situation…charges were dropped never went to court…can i still get a gun license? thank you
Continuation from above-i found letter regarding that when i tried to get perc card in Illinois 2011…perc card was denied because of arrest said “open with no disposition”…however detectives came to my house in 2201 and said the charges were dropped..so dunno why that happen..from what i understand i have to go back to Chicago and fix that
If my CCW was approved can I carry without a card
If you do NOT have a CWP, you can not place your gun in the glove box or center consul!
If you place it in those areas, you can go to jail bc its considered CONSEALED! If you want to carry it in your vehicle it must be in the open, nothing covering it!
No, you’re completely wrong.
I have a Felony (assault) from a bar fight, in PA, in 1993.am I able to obtain a CCW in Florida now? (2018).
if somebody has a restraining order can they still carry a concieled weapon ?
When I lived in pa I had the pa ccl and it got revoked over some stuff that a friend got me dragged into I now live in fl and it’s been a year or so would I be able to apply for the ccl here in fl or will that get me into trouble?
So 10 years ago I was arrested for 3rd time knowingly driving on a suspended license which is a felony but withheld adjudication. Also I’ve had 2 dui’s but it’s been longer then 3 years since I got the 2nd dui. Does this disqualify me?
I’m not sure… but the first step is to go to AA.
I have a suspended drivers license in Florida based on games child support loves to play. My question is will that prevent me from getting a concealed weapons permit? Thanks for any help
No, this is not a disqualifying factor to getting a concealed carry permit.
I am on disability. I was told quite awhile ago that there were some ways I could get some of the requirements for a cwp in Fl. Is this true or false. IE like the hunting fishing license @ no cost.
I really have no idea about that.
I have taken and passed a CCW class back in 2010with a friend of mine, I got my certificate and a copy of it with all of the paper work for the passport photo and the finger print card. My question is I got side tracked by life at the time and never sent in my prints or photo with the required paperwork, if my very still valid? Would I still be able to get my prints and photo taken and send them in to get my license or would I have to go through the whole process again?
If your instructor is still a valid NRA Certified Instructor, then all you need to do is get your fingerprints and send them in. I suggest you find your certificate, and use this link to check to see if they are still active. https://www.nrainstructors.org/instructoradmin/verify.aspx
If I have a concealed weapons permit can I have my weapon on my person inside my vechicle?
In Florida, yes.